Friday, December 19, 2008

turkey day and the death sickness...

hello everyone! i am so sorry that it has been so long since i last wrote. but i'm gonna write all about the past couple of months right now!!!

so a lot has happened in the past little while! 

I'm trying to decide how to go about writing this all... I guess I'll just cover school as a whole and then talk about everything else in the order that it happened. 

School has been going great this semester. I am about ready to apply into the elementary education program, so I am just finishing up my GEs. I got all of the classes that I need next semester... and I am really excited for it. I am most excited for my English class because it is for elementary education, too. =) Today was actually my last day of finals... what a relief that the semester is over! I liked most of my classes (besides civilization... I really, really did not like that one). But school was great! 

Pretty much every Sunday has some event that requires some delicious food... like pumpkin pies... or brownies... or cake! Adam and I have become quite the pros with making pumpkin pies. We even made a little baby pumpkin pie! It was so cute... until I ate it in about one bite.

















































Right before Thanksgiving break, my ballet teacher opened up another class... so now I go to ballet twice a week. She also told me that my Christmas present would be doing pointe when I got back from break!!! I was so so excited... =)

Thanksgiving was wonderful! I went to Ima's house in the sunny, wonderful weather of CaLiFoRnIa... and I even got In-N-Out a few times, too. It is always nice to have a break, especially with your family. I loved catching up with my brother. I bet that over Christmas break I will beat him on Wii boxing. Until then, I am happy with beating my mom and dad. hahaha. =) We made rolls for Thanksgiving dinner and they were delicious. (It was mostly mom that made them...) We went to Joselitos for dinner one night and we even saw Bolt (that one Disney movie that is super cute). It was a great break!












































When I got back, I started to get back into the swing of things... and then by about Wednesday I started to feel really sick. By Friday, I couldn't swallow anything because my throat hurt really bad. I thought for sure I had strep throat, so I made my dad call the health center so I could get in and get checked out before the weekend. They made me get my blood tested... and I found out I had mono! Just in time for the busiest, most crazy time of school! I was thrilled... I went home and pretty much crashed. I began the long couple of weeks of medicine that made me crazy and so tired that I don't remember most nights. It was a good time, that's what people say. =) I had all of these concert reports I had to do for my music class, so I still had to go to the Nutcracker in Salt Lake that Saturday. I'm not going to lie, I was really tired, but it was tons of fun. Adam was a good sport in letting me be exhausted. I most of my classes during this whole thing, but I survived the semester... so it's ok! Next semester will be better with health. I swore off that health center last year. Obviously, I didn't do a good enough job. 

Obviously mono stopped my pointe training for the month of December, which makes me upset. That's ok. I know that I will get on pointe soon. I would guess the beginning of February. I will let you all know though. 

Bethany and I still found time to take our classic winter pictures in the snow though! 
















































P.S. the weather here is really crazy! Compared to last years winter, it seems really mild so far! Besides, of course, this week... we are being buried in snow as I speak... write. 

I SWEAR I will be better at writing from now on. Lots has been going on and completely throwing me off my groove. But each week I will post more. 

I love you all!
Con amor,
Jessica 

Sunday, November 2, 2008

you're never too old for halloween

as you know, this week was halloween! and i love halloween! basically, dressing up is so much fun. i honestly think we should every stinkin' day.

for family home evening on monday, we carved pumpkins. they were so cool, really! look for yourself. at ballet that night, we got to dance to halloween music (like pirates of the carribean). i was so pleased with it.

the week was kinda nasty with tests and stuff, but i survived like usual.

on thursday night i watched the office with jo and adam. it was awesome, as usual... it's the office of course.

on friday, bethany, adam, and i went trick or treating. i was an 80s dancer (mostly because that outfit allows me to wear whatever i want- such as leg warmers). some people thought we were too old to be trick or treating... i think that's not possible. it was tons of fun, and we got lots of candy. and we got lots of BIG candy bars... mostly because we went to places in provo where the houses have west entrances and duck ponds. 

on saturday, we went to the ward halloween party with the rest of the activities committee. it was a lot of fun... and i ate lots of cheez-its. which is rad. after the party, i went on a group date with adam and we went golfing on campus. how cool is that? we used foam balls, don't worry. but basically, it was tons of fun... and i should definitely do that again.

sunday was a nice day with lots of relaxing and no homework, so i'm all about that.

until next week...
con amor, 
jessica

Tuesday, October 28, 2008

disney scene it is a cheater.

this week was pretty much awesome.  i had lots of homework and such for the first bit... but everything was all finished up by thursday. we had an amazingly cool office party. adam and i even built ourselves a "that's what she said" cake. it's pretty legitimate. 
















on friday, my family came. =) it was awesome partying around with my brother. he even came to class with me, that brave soul. that night, our family went to cafe rio. and it was delicious (of course). after cafe rio, i went to the planetarium with adam. it was so so much fun, and the guide guy that was telling us the stuff about the stars was hilariously not funny. it was awesome. after that we watched harry potter, only the best. 
on saturday, i hung out with my family again. we went shopping, and just hung out. i miss them. on saturday night, bethany and my family and i went to trafalga and played GLOW IN THE DARK putt putt golf. no lies. it was so so cool, and i for sure am going back. 
















after that, alecia, bethany, sayaka, steve, adam, and i went to the nickelcade. and it was way fun too. it basically was the best week ever. 
on sunday, adam came over and partied with my family. we played disney scene-it... and i lost, which is most depressing. after that we had an amazingly delicious meal. 
life is good. =)

con amor, jessica

Sunday, October 19, 2008

out of control

hello! so this week was CRAZY. really... 
i thought it would be easy because i didn't have any tests, but i got sick on tuesday and wednesday and that was no good. i got better though... and i am still alive. =)
on thursday, bethany and i went to the temple, and that was awesome. of course we watched the office... which rocked. 
on friday, my spanish class got cancelled (YAY) and then i went to a comedy show with dan. it was tons of fun, and HILARIOUS. i got home, and of course our walls were painted with glow-
in-the-dark paint. it looks really cool. 
on saturday, we did our chores and grocery shopping and all that jazz... and then we went to a japanese restaurant. it was so COOL. it was one of those restaurants where the cook makes the food in front of you. the cook was flipping the rice bowl around... and sayaka said "i have never seen a jumping rice bowl before!" it was so funny. 
















that night we had a crazy fun nacho libre party complete with nachos. most delicious...
today is full of studying for my living prophets test... wish me luck. =) 

con amor,
jessica

Sunday, October 12, 2008

when the horchata runs dry...

hola everyone!
this week has been super busy, and super exciting. first off, i had about A MILLION midterms to do. and everyone knows that midterms are just no good at all. i did pretty well, and i survived the week... so i guess nothing else matters! 
the weekend was amazing. as you may know, my roommate (sayaka) has been taking the discussions and she got baptized this saturday! i am so excited and proud of her. saturday was an amazing day. we got up early to get ready for her baptism, and then we practiced "i am a child of god" because we sang at the baptism. sayaka sang the first verse in japanese while we sang in english, kiseniya sang the second verse in russian while we sang in english, and then alecia, bethany, and i sang the third verse in spanish while the other girls sang in english. it was really fun for me to sing in spanish. it reminded me of the viejitas in mexico. i gave the talk on baptism, and i was super nervous. i don't know why, but doing things like that make me nervous. i guess it was because i wanted everything to be perfect for sayaka that weekend and i knew my talk would be far from. 


































































































after the baptism, we went to the football game. bethany and i sat next to alecia's family and it was tons of fun, despite the freezing cold. right now, byu is ranked 7th (i think) and has the longest winning streak in college football. go cougars! 

















that night, we had a bunch of people over for a party for sayaka. we played lots of games and had tons of fun. saturday was probably the best day ever. sunday was pretty awesome as well because sayaka got confirmed. i am so ready for this week because i don't have too much to do... and i really need some rest! 
con amor,
jessica

Sunday, October 5, 2008

when being a hippie is just not ok...

hello! 
this week was pretty fun! for fhe, we played flag football. it turns out that i am tragically bad at playing any form of football. i treat it more like hot potato. 
this week was really good... i hung out with alecia and bethany a lot. =) we partied. 
on saturday, i went to a korean restaurant. and it was so so so very good. i believe that it might be slightly americanized... ha. 
on saturday night, bethany came into our room and was like, "JESSICA! COME WITH ME!" she took me outside to the sidewalk and showed me a snail. we explored around for a bit, and found 6 other snails. (in total: 2 big ones and 5 babies). basically we couldn't leave them outside to get crushed by careless walkers or get killed in the rain! so we took them inside... named them... painted them with nail polish... and created a habitat for them. they pretty much are the coolest pets EVER. people judge us for being hippies. i think we rock.
i also watched conference! it was so good! it was also cool because the weather was most excellent with rain and cold... it was fun to pretty much camp out in our living room all weekend long.
on sunday morning we made a really good breakfast/lunch in between sessions of conference. we had hash browns, pancakes, the whole deal. =) 
in short, this week was pretty awesome... and i'm pretty excited that i'm settled in finally. 

Sunday, September 28, 2008

eek! midterms...

oh my, this week has been... lovely. not really, it has actually been quite stressful. but that is ok, it is over... and the rest of the month is looking sweet.

mostly i spent all week in the library studying for assorted things... i had a music test, a civilization test, a spanish essay... just lots.

but it was fun on monday because i went to ballet... which rocked... i can almost do good shanay turns. and then we had family home
 evening! it was so much fun! we did a photo scavenger hunt, and then ate m&m cookies! i still have to get my group's pictures from dan, but this picture is cute of the other group!

on thursday, we went to bajios to get some horchata, because i needed it. we each got 2 cups full. and it was a delight. on the way home, we saw a little mercado and it was so choice. there was a bunch of mexican food... tortillas, abuelitas, everything! and of course dulce de leche! i bought some cajetas... and i WILL be going back for more.

that thursday night was the office. SO EXCELLENT!

also, i dropped tap. also, SO EXCELLENT! 

on friday, bethany and i went to a good mexican food place. actually, the restaurant is from guadalajara... so i was pleased. i got tacos, which made my stomach feel weird. i think i am just not doing well with any meat. it's no good. anyways, after that we went to the dollar theater to see get smart and then just romped around doing crazy things.
















on saturday, we did ALL of our laundry... (quite the task). then we went to cafe rio, split a delicious burrito, and watched the relief society general conference broadcast. after that, we went grocery shopping... and then watched some tv in our room.

this week was a good time!!! oh... my...

Sunday, September 21, 2008

reunited and it feels so good!

so this week was very fun! i had school... the usual. i had my first family home evening! we played apples to apples. our family seems pretty cool. =) i got a letter from chase! complete with pictures! so choice... on friday, there was a guadalajara reunion!!! it was completely awesome to see all of my friends again. also, i rode up to hermana's house with becky, and that was tons of fun! she told me that some of our friends from guadalajara might come to salt lake for conference weekend! that would be so cool! anyways, at our reunion we had amazing food, talked, and sang color esperanza (claro!). it was so much fun! 
this is a picture of sin verguenza, reunited!

















after my mexican fiesta, i came back home... and then bethany and i drove around acting like fools! that was for sure fun.

on saturday there was a game... which we missed because we had so much to do. we went grocery shopping, did homework, and other so-exciting things. that night we went to a concert in salt lake for my music 101 class. that was fun, because it was nice to have a little date night with darling bethany.

on sunday, we went to the asian ward with sayaka! it was so cool! we even had sunday school in japanese! (i got a hand-out!) this is what the board looked like...
















other than that, this week is going to be CrAzY!!!

con amor,
jessica

Sunday, September 14, 2008

pointe, the UCLA game, and being a mom

hola everyone! this week was really awesome! on monday my teacher told me that i could probably get onto pointe in 9 months to a year. i never thought that i could actually get there, and now that the goal seems achievable- i want it really bad. =) so i am working really hard on my strengthening and stuff so i can get on pointe asap! school is going well, i am keeping up for once... and i study lots. i love spanish, and i just can't make up my mind about it- whether i want to keep going or not... the next level is 321 with all of those RMs... and i am almost positive i can't speak as well as they can. well, i guess we will see what happens in the future. until then, i'll just work on 206. haha. 

sayaka is taking the discussions... the missionaries come over a lot! it is so much fun! the date is set for october 11th!!! here is a picture of the missionaries at our house doing a demonstration...





















on friday night bethany and i watched hancock. it was good... but slightly scarring with blood and such. (and of course we got pudding on the rice... only the most delicious thing to grace the planet) on saturday, we went to the UCLA game. it was a blow-out... we killed them 59-0. ridiculous. poor ol' wyoming just doesn't stand a chance. here is a picture of bethany and i at the game. i know it looks like that boy should be in the picture... but he's not. he is jus a scrimp that likes to pretend to know us. 

















that night we watched the best two years. it was way good. i LOVE that movie! on sunday, we went to church and it was good. i think our ward is going to be really nice this year. i got my calling, and i am the family home evening mom again! yay! i was so very relieved that i wasn't a sunday school teacher or something. bethany is the basketball coordinator in the activities committee... what a sweet job, no? well... this week is gonna be slightly crazy, but hopefully fun! love you all!

con amor, 
jessica

Sunday, September 7, 2008

when your friends consist of letters and your roommate...

Hola everyone! this is my first week of school! so far, i love it! at first it was kinda nerve-wracking, but i think that if i just stay on top of everything, i will be ok! my classes are really good this semester, minus civilization, but that is ok! i love my living prophets and doctrine and covenants classes. i am actually kind of nervous about spanish because there is going to be a lot of work! we are finally all situated in the apartment, our room is clean, underneath the sink is fixed... it's kinda small, but that is all part of the experience! bethany and i watch movies and tv shows at night, and that is a lot of fun! i love spending time with her. we sure miss our friends that are on missions right now, but it is fun writing them. =) on friday night, sayaka, bethany, and i went to red robin. sayaka told us that she wants to get baptized as soon as possible! i am so excited! after our "american" meal, we saw kung-fu panda at the dollar theater. it was truly hilarious, and very quotable. 

















on saturday, bethany and i went to the library for a bit to get our work done. we got a lot done so we wouldn't have to do any homework on sunday. on sunday, we had stake conference at the marriot center. all of byu was there, and so i went with becky. we had a good time! the speakers were amazing. that night there was a fireside, and elder holland spoke. he is an amazing speaker. at the end of his talk he gave an apostalic blessing to all of the girls. he said that he "wishes that all of our righteous desires will come true." it was an amazing fireside- bethany and i loved it. after the fireside, we took a few pictures by the old canon center to send to our friends who can't see it. basically, it is sad. 

















after that, we went home and ate some lasagna, and then we made banana bread! it was quite delicious. 




















and now for week two... 

con amor, 
jessica

ps. thanks mom for the flowers, they're beautiful!


Sunday, August 31, 2008

moving time!

so this week was super insane! on monday i woke up super early to drive to utah. it was a long, long drive. and it sure didn't help much when we had to drive through the salt flats. =/ but it was fun talking with my dad and stuff. we finally made it to provo and got checked in to my new apartment at glenwood! we started unpacking... and that lasted for a few days because i have so much stuff. someday i will condense. or not.

on wednesday, i went to salt lake to drop off my dad at the airport. then i went to temple square and walked around for a bit, that was fun! after a while i hung out with dan! he gave me the grand tour of his new apartment, and then we got some food at JBs! (my restaurant!!!) after i hung out with dan, i picked up my mom from the airport! 




















my mom stayed until saturday and we cleaned and organized... and then cleaned and organized some more! but it is nice to be all set for school to start.

here is my room...







































bethany came on friday! talk about crazy times! oh man, it has been a long summer, and it is gonna be a CRAZY fun year!!! 


















on saturday, we went to the football game for about 30 minutes. i almost died of heat stroke, so we went home and went out to the pool. we met some new friends from kenya, and they are coming over for dessert on monday night. so that will be fun! =) we also met up with marco and got some horchatta! that was way fun cuz we haven't seen each other since mexico! after that, we went to sydney's cute apartment and sat out on the grass and talked. crazy thing- there was a thunderstorm for a bit! it was so cool! on monday it is supposed to be 60 degrees! random... but i am pretty excited.

today (sunday), we got up for 9:00 church. we are in the 116th ward! crazy... haha. our ward seems really nice, and i am pretty excited! tonight we have a break the fast at 5:00, so that should be fun! 

hope everything is going well! 

con amor,
jessica

Thursday, August 21, 2008

death by boredom.

hello everyone!
i am so incredibly stoked to go to school to the point where i can't even begin to focus here! this week hasn't had too much excitement for me... i mostly have been doing my elementary education hours. this means i have been shadowing teachers during the day. it's pretty fun, and i definitely want to be a 2nd grade teacher. 
also, i miss my friends horribly. i miss my friends that are on missions. i miss my friends from byu. i miss my friends that i never talk to. i miss my friends that no existe anymore. it's kinda depressing. 
i have been packing for the past few days now. i am almost done... there is mostly stuff all over my room right now. i would rather die of boredom than pick it up. =)
on friday my family came, and it was super fun! we went to boomers (the most legit place in modesto...) with my cousins and uncle. 
that night was my brother's court of honor! hooray! 































on saturday, briana spent the night... and then we watched youtube all night. it was quite fun. 
i'm leaving for provo on monday morning at like 4 am. i am SO SO excited to get situated and to move in with bethany again! i hope everything goes well...
con amor,
jessica

Sunday, August 17, 2008

when life gets a little scary...

Hello! Well, this week has been quite the adventure! And I am pretty sure that I am getting anxious about starting school. Yes, very anxious.

Well, I did a lot this week! I started getting ready for school... I went shopping and bought lots of fall clothes. It's a crying shame that I can't wear any of them now because I would DIE of heat stroke. 

I FINALLY went through my Mexico stuff. I put it off for so long because I knew that I would be sad when I did. I was right, it was sad. But it was also fun to find notes and things that I had forgotten about. 

I went to the dentist. That was scary times, but actually it didn't hurt too much. I got my little white scar on my front tooth filled in. So now, my teeth are normal! 

On Thursday I started my hours for elementary education. Talk about fun times! I was with Mrs. Manriquez and her kindergarten class for two days. It was tons of fun, and I think I am going to add kindergarten to what I can teach. I really liked it though... Because it was their first few days of school, they were scared and nervous... so that was interesting to see. It was also fun for me because I got to speak Spanish a bunch, or eavesdrop on Spanish. There were quite a few of her kids that couldn't speak English at all. I can't even imagine going to kindergarten and not being able to understand anything. Those kids are impressive. 

On Friday, I went to San Francisco with my family. I drove! It was emotionally scarring because I thought I was going to crash on several occasions! But I didn't. We wandered around the city, went on the trolleys, went to pier 39, ate clam chowder, drank hot chocolate, saw the sea lions, went to Haight- Ashbury, and went to the farmers' market! It was TONS of fun! On Saturday afternoon, we picked up Michael from the airport (he was at EFY). 
































































On Saturday night, I went to dinner with Hyrum. It was quite delicious and fun! After, we went swimming, jumped on the trampoline, went on the swings, and took foolish pictures! Also, quite fun. 

Also, I must add that Michael Phelps has broken Mark Spitz' record of 7 gold medals in one olympics. I watched all of Michael Phelps' races... he's amazing.

Now today is Sunday, and I plan to get lots done! I am going to write my missionary friends, read, go to church, and call Bethany.

I am pretty nervous about school next year. It will be my first time cooking for myself, while living on my own. I want to do well in school, so that makes me nervous. I want to take ballet, and do really well... there are just a lot of things on my mind. Oh! And getting to Utah! That's scary! Also, getting all situated before school starts... Ay, caramba! Esta  bien, when Bethany gets to Utah, things will get so much better! How I miss that girl! We have so many plans for this next year... hehe. It will be amazing. 

Tambien, no puedo esperar a ver mis amigos de Mexico. Estoy muy emocionada por eso, y estoy emocionada por mi clase de espanol. Yo extrano hablando espanol. 

Con amor, 
Jessica

Sunday, August 10, 2008

michael phelps makes me want to race.

well, this week hasn't been too exciting. (compared to my entire summer!)

i went to family home evening, the gym, pretty much the usual.

i also went to see the sisterhood of the traveling pants with my mom on wednesday night. it was really fun, and a super cute movie. however, i must say that i did NOT like the hyena sitting next to us. i mean, seriously... every time ANYTHING would happen that could be TwIsTeD into something funny, she would HOWL! it was awkward, and everyone would turn around and stare!
here's to you, ms. i-howl-like-a-hyena-in-the-theaters (wo)man.

i also got jamba juice with mallory on friday! that was fun, and we got all caught up on everything that has been happening in the past year. it's crazy how time flies.

i also have been watching the olympics (hence my title). might i say, i love michael phelps. i mean really, he is amazing. i haven't competitively swam in a little over a year now... and i haven't missed it as much as i do now. of course i have missed it here and there, but now i want to jump in the pool and swim for hours... with my fins. =) as soon as i get to provo i will... 

BACK TO THE OLYMPICS! so. i watched the opening ceremonies. i don't think there is a word to describe them. it was seriously AMAZING! they used people for every part of it. and the way they lit the torch was amazing, too! my favorite thing, obviously, is swimming. i love watching it because i get so involved... it reminds me of when bethany watches march madness. haha. i watched michael phelps get his first and second gold medal for this olympics. his second race was amazing though. it was the 4 x 100 free relay. the french had been talking trash about how they were going to "smash" the americans... and in the last few meters, the americans completely pulled through and BARELY out-touched the french. it was awesome! 

i just have 2 more weeks until i go back to school... and i am so so excited! 

con amor, 
jessica

Sunday, August 3, 2008

lo mas chido de todo. =)

so as you know... this week was my beach trip adventures! SOO SOO COOL! really. =)




















i went to newport beach with my family, and we were there for a little over a week. i roomed with my brother. and we had good times boogie boarding, having pillow talk, and catching crabs. Also, my two little cousins were there. they are so funny, and so cute. i spent a good majority of the time teaching cameron how to say "buhlood... not funny!" from the infamous youtube video. also, katie slayed me by calling the waves to my brother and i. i give her credit for making them big when we were boogie boarding. gracias, katie. 

i'll start from the very beginning! well, this could take some time! lucky thing you've got it, since you're reading this... =)

so my brother and i created this ghetto-fabulous christmas mix... it includes every good christmas song, and clips from every good ghetto song. so choice. ask me about it... =)

we went to a surf competition in huntington beach. we rode our bikes there because we are legit. it was way crowded with people, and it was really cool to see all of the surfers doing insane tricks. 

there was a 5.8 earthquake. considering i have never been in an earthquake before, i was slightly scarred. we were in a surf shop, and everything shook. it was the weirdest feeling, because the ground was shaking. it was so so ... awkward (i guess that's the only word to describe). there was only one, and nothing really happened from it. so that's quite good.

we went to disneyland. basically, i love disneyland. we went on all of the amazing rides, ate all of the amazing food, saw all of the amazing princesses, bought all of the amazing princess
 merchandise, and soaked up all of disney's amazingness. it rocked, in summary.






























we went on a boat ride with the whole family. it was really fun, because we drove around the bay. a few days later, we went on a kayak ride around the bay as well. we saw the wedge (which is a really sweet place with dang big waves that i would never touch). we saw all of the famous peoples' homes. that was pretty cool. AND we ate these amazing cinnamon rolls. much appreciated.






























the waves were really big, but really powerful and quite ideal for boogie boarding. lots of them were too big to actually ride... so my brother and i took a few beatings. but it was all worth it. 





























we're going back next year... and i can't wait!!!

con amor, 
jessica

tambien, solo tengo 22 dias hasta BYU. no puedo esperar. tambien, bethany y yo vamos a tener lo mas chido cuarto en el todo mundo. en serio. tambien, yo extrano mexico MUCHISIMO. no es justo... =/

Friday, July 25, 2008

you've been away for awhile now...

si, si. yo se que it is friday... but i figured that this flowed a lot better than interrupting the beach trip! anyways, it has been one crazy, crazy week!!! i am so excited to go to the beach house next week. that will be VERY nice. 

so this week i have mostly been working. this week i am working the money, money camp for girl scouts. i have the little, little girls in my group! (they are 5 through 7 a.k.a. SUPER young!) they do say HILARIOUS things though... =) this is one of my favorite quotes:
-"you shouldn't tattle because you're good girl scouts." -Lauren (another counselor)
-"yeah! only boy scouts do that..." -one of my little girls. 
(precious, and not that true)

another quote:
-"GIRLS! BE QUIET! i can't answer all of your questions all at once!" -me (in utter frustration)
-"God can." -one of my sassy little girls.
-"well... i'm not God." -me






























so basically, you can see how my week went. it is pretty much like that every second of the day... and truly hilarious. we've done some badge work, been to funworks, the park, AAA, walgreens... you know... fun times. 

on monday, i went to family home evening with joanna. we played water volleyball, and pretty much slayed ourselves because we were so pleased with aiming every water balloon at dan. (even though we never hit him...) haha. it was pretty fun!

on tuesday, i went to institute with jo and dan. that was good, but it was more talks on getting married. no gracias. after, we went out to ice cream together and had drama talk, and talked about dan's new and fabulous iphone. i need to get me one of those... haha
















on wednesday, i took a shower early because i spent my whole day outside on the go-karts. yes, i realize that i get paid for partying. lucky day! so basically, there were bugs in my hair and i was sunburned. pretty gross. after i showered, i packed for the beach house... and got all cleaned up. it was just a chill day. =)

on thursday, i went to the concert in the park with my fam and we ate KFC! hooray!!! i bet you're jealous... =) it was the last concert for the summer... and the weather was quite nice. 

on friday i had my last day of work. YAY! i loved my job, but i'm definitely ready to have a month off before school. it was so cute... one of the girls brought me a present. and the note said, "thanks for being nice to me. i like my french braids. love, lauren" it was so cute to me. ALSO, i got 2 letters from my besties, kyle and chase. their letters slayed me. really, i was so happy i got them! i bet my mom was happy, too... because EVERY day after work i would ask about the mail. probably got pretty annoying... i was just glad to hear from them. each of their letters i would think, "oh man, that is so kyle..." or "that is SO chase!" i just miss those boys. =) right now we're getting ready to go to the county fair! aka, hick party! YEAAAH BOY! i'll write again when i get back from the beach on sunday! 

con amor, 
jessica 

Sunday, July 20, 2008

why so serious? (the party week)

so this was my summer week filled with foolish and party things to do...
i guess we should all have one of these weeks. we all deserve a break from real life, if you think about it. 

the first thing that i did was go to family home evening on monday. we played water baseball... or some other water activity. at this point in my life, i was not feeling the whole water situation... i went to institute on tuesday! that was enjoyable! that night i spent the night at joanna's house. we had good times with dance parties AND we floated on the raft for a few hours. it was nice! i also hung out with my besties, jo and mckay, on one random night! we saw wall-e! it was way good! it was completely hippie status. i appreciated it. =) on thursday joanna came over and we just goofed off in my room. we took about 300 macbook pictures. it was quite fun. 
















(here is a picture of us on the roller coaster on my macbook. it's real... don't question that.)

that night, my church friends came over and we watched batman (the first one) to get us pumped for the dark knight (the new batman movie!) after we watched batman, jo and i TPed mckays house. 
















we did a lovely job. really! and we didn't even need any boy's help to be successful! the next night, i went out with the same friends to see the dark knight! even though it was the night after opening night, the lines were CRAZY! the movie was so good! i thought it was worth the ten dollars! the only downfall for the movie was the amount of times that SOMEONE put a gun to another person's head. i was basically freaking out the whole time. but it was quite enjoyable... and i definitely need to see it again!  

(this is a picture of jeff, dan, jo, and i at red robin's before the movie...)
















on saturday my mom got back from girls' camp! we watched never been kissed. (becky... i loved that beach boys scene) it was an awesome movie, and i definitely was slayed by its cuteness. on sunday i went to church for about one million hours... true story. i went to regular singles ward. THEN we had a linger longer (the name still slays me). and THEN we had a fireside! all of which were all over the city! so basically i got home at about 9:00!!! Super insane... but quite delightful!

also, a few accomplishments of this week... 
* i wrote a million of my missionary friends! i can't wait to get letters back from them! i am so jealous that they are gone now that i've been in a missionary situation for a whole 3 hours, i wish i was there for 2 years! 
* i went to a body pump class and a yoga class at the gym EVERYDAY this week! i feel pretty proud of myself, even though i am quite sore.
* i cleaned out my room! i'm ready to be a grown-up! ha. i put away my stuffed animals! (minus the basics... ha)
* i made zucchini bread! it was really good! and i loved makin' it!

that's pretty much it! i miss mexico like no other! i can't wait to go back to provo, where i can chill with my good ol' friends! 
con amor,
jessica