Friday, July 25, 2008

you've been away for awhile now...

si, si. yo se que it is friday... but i figured that this flowed a lot better than interrupting the beach trip! anyways, it has been one crazy, crazy week!!! i am so excited to go to the beach house next week. that will be VERY nice. 

so this week i have mostly been working. this week i am working the money, money camp for girl scouts. i have the little, little girls in my group! (they are 5 through 7 a.k.a. SUPER young!) they do say HILARIOUS things though... =) this is one of my favorite quotes:
-"you shouldn't tattle because you're good girl scouts." -Lauren (another counselor)
-"yeah! only boy scouts do that..." -one of my little girls. 
(precious, and not that true)

another quote:
-"GIRLS! BE QUIET! i can't answer all of your questions all at once!" -me (in utter frustration)
-"God can." -one of my sassy little girls.
-"well... i'm not God." -me






























so basically, you can see how my week went. it is pretty much like that every second of the day... and truly hilarious. we've done some badge work, been to funworks, the park, AAA, walgreens... you know... fun times. 

on monday, i went to family home evening with joanna. we played water volleyball, and pretty much slayed ourselves because we were so pleased with aiming every water balloon at dan. (even though we never hit him...) haha. it was pretty fun!

on tuesday, i went to institute with jo and dan. that was good, but it was more talks on getting married. no gracias. after, we went out to ice cream together and had drama talk, and talked about dan's new and fabulous iphone. i need to get me one of those... haha
















on wednesday, i took a shower early because i spent my whole day outside on the go-karts. yes, i realize that i get paid for partying. lucky day! so basically, there were bugs in my hair and i was sunburned. pretty gross. after i showered, i packed for the beach house... and got all cleaned up. it was just a chill day. =)

on thursday, i went to the concert in the park with my fam and we ate KFC! hooray!!! i bet you're jealous... =) it was the last concert for the summer... and the weather was quite nice. 

on friday i had my last day of work. YAY! i loved my job, but i'm definitely ready to have a month off before school. it was so cute... one of the girls brought me a present. and the note said, "thanks for being nice to me. i like my french braids. love, lauren" it was so cute to me. ALSO, i got 2 letters from my besties, kyle and chase. their letters slayed me. really, i was so happy i got them! i bet my mom was happy, too... because EVERY day after work i would ask about the mail. probably got pretty annoying... i was just glad to hear from them. each of their letters i would think, "oh man, that is so kyle..." or "that is SO chase!" i just miss those boys. =) right now we're getting ready to go to the county fair! aka, hick party! YEAAAH BOY! i'll write again when i get back from the beach on sunday! 

con amor, 
jessica 

Sunday, July 20, 2008

why so serious? (the party week)

so this was my summer week filled with foolish and party things to do...
i guess we should all have one of these weeks. we all deserve a break from real life, if you think about it. 

the first thing that i did was go to family home evening on monday. we played water baseball... or some other water activity. at this point in my life, i was not feeling the whole water situation... i went to institute on tuesday! that was enjoyable! that night i spent the night at joanna's house. we had good times with dance parties AND we floated on the raft for a few hours. it was nice! i also hung out with my besties, jo and mckay, on one random night! we saw wall-e! it was way good! it was completely hippie status. i appreciated it. =) on thursday joanna came over and we just goofed off in my room. we took about 300 macbook pictures. it was quite fun. 
















(here is a picture of us on the roller coaster on my macbook. it's real... don't question that.)

that night, my church friends came over and we watched batman (the first one) to get us pumped for the dark knight (the new batman movie!) after we watched batman, jo and i TPed mckays house. 
















we did a lovely job. really! and we didn't even need any boy's help to be successful! the next night, i went out with the same friends to see the dark knight! even though it was the night after opening night, the lines were CRAZY! the movie was so good! i thought it was worth the ten dollars! the only downfall for the movie was the amount of times that SOMEONE put a gun to another person's head. i was basically freaking out the whole time. but it was quite enjoyable... and i definitely need to see it again!  

(this is a picture of jeff, dan, jo, and i at red robin's before the movie...)
















on saturday my mom got back from girls' camp! we watched never been kissed. (becky... i loved that beach boys scene) it was an awesome movie, and i definitely was slayed by its cuteness. on sunday i went to church for about one million hours... true story. i went to regular singles ward. THEN we had a linger longer (the name still slays me). and THEN we had a fireside! all of which were all over the city! so basically i got home at about 9:00!!! Super insane... but quite delightful!

also, a few accomplishments of this week... 
* i wrote a million of my missionary friends! i can't wait to get letters back from them! i am so jealous that they are gone now that i've been in a missionary situation for a whole 3 hours, i wish i was there for 2 years! 
* i went to a body pump class and a yoga class at the gym EVERYDAY this week! i feel pretty proud of myself, even though i am quite sore.
* i cleaned out my room! i'm ready to be a grown-up! ha. i put away my stuffed animals! (minus the basics... ha)
* i made zucchini bread! it was really good! and i loved makin' it!

that's pretty much it! i miss mexico like no other! i can't wait to go back to provo, where i can chill with my good ol' friends! 
con amor,
jessica

Sunday, July 13, 2008

defying gravity!

well... this week was just amazing! i drove down to my grandma's house with my mom and my brother... that was cool! when we were at my grandma's house we did lots of things! we hung out with my cute little cousins... =)


















AND we went to WICKED! it was so amazing. i am still so obsessed. i listen to the song defying gravity all the time, because it is just simply
 perfect. there's no other description. but the
 musical was amazing. i loved the songs, the actors, the costumes, the dancing... EVERYTHING! i even got a wicked sweatshirt... no pun intended.
































on wednesday we went out to dinner at joselitos for my grandma's birthday. that was fun, and delicious! 

on thursday morning we had to drive home. that was not as enjoyable as the first time because it felt like i had just driven. thursday night we went to the concert in the park. after the concert in the park, i hung out with jo and mckay. we had drama sessions and mostly just talked. 

on friday night, michael and i went to jo's house. we had SO much fun! we made puppy chow (the chex mix with peanut butter and chocolate). it was delicious. and we had a fat dance party!
 so that was tons of fun! =)































and last, but not least... on sunday i went to the singles branch and got to talk to some of my old friends from last summer (like dan, who is hilarious). we are going to have a batman party later this week... i guess it just depends on peoples' work schedules. after church, our family went to the chapman's for dinner. it was way good! we got all caught up, so that was nice...

now a new week begins... hopefully there will be a lot of adventures!

con amor, jessica

Sunday, July 6, 2008

what happens when you are grown up?

ah, this week. my, oh my.

let us see... my stomach issues continued. i went to the doctor, that was a dandy/ LoVeLy time. she gave me drugs that pretty much cleaned me up... so as of right now, i am good. it's a new feeling, not being sick all of the time. haha.

well, as some of you all might know... i got a CAR for my birthday (right before i left for mexico). my parents were looking into some different types and such, so when i got home from mexico, we could go get one. we went to a dealership on monday (i think) and the guys were so so slimy. that's the only word i can think of that properly describes these used-car salesmen. oh yes, slimy and the opposite of classy. too bad i read through their ways... well, on wednesday... i got a car (from a different dealership might i add!). it is the most amazing car ever. it's a 2007 honda crv and it's pretty much true love. haha. so i haven't really separated from it... at all. i know, i'm pretty cool like that.

















what else, what else...

oh yes, so as you know friday was the fourth of july! how i love the fourth of july!!! being away in mexico made me so much more patriotic as well. we (my family and i) went to the modesto parade in the morning... 
















and then i read new moon (the second book about my new love, edward) for about 3 hours. it was amazing. and then i made a movie about mexico. it's all of my video footage cut down into about 7 minutes. it was kinda hard to do, and i'm pretty proud of myself. i know that's not really a good thing to feel, but it's true. and i admit it. haha. after that, we went over to mallory's house for our traditional court bbq. i caught up with mal, that was fun! after the bbq we went to the modesto nuts baseball game. not gonna lie, didn't pay attention. i mostly just watch people making fools of themselves. it's entertaining to me. i know, also wrong... but, what can you do? people say that the game was good. so that's nice. after the game, there was the typical flag burning ceremony. i'm not really a fan because it takes so long for it to get over. but that's not the point. my point is that these CRAZY people were screaming at each other during the ceremony, even the prayer! it was ridiculous! the police took them out, and then people clapped. i thought it was the icing on the cake for my people-watching adventure. after the crazies got escorted out, the fireworks started! it was fun... typical fourth of july! after we got home, mckay came over and then we went to boomers to harass joanna. we were successful. poor dear. and then mckay showed me some funny youtube videos. i think that was pretty much my fourth of july in a nutshell.
saturday... what a day, eh? i got my hair cut and dyed. it's way short, and i really like it! i was pretty scared cutting all that hair off... and getting rid of my foolish hippie blonde hair... but i feel that i look a little bit more grown up. 






















after, i cleaned my room for a bit and read. then jo and i went to target. it was fun. how i love that girl. later that night, jo, mckay, and i hung out... had some deep talk and ate some fun dip. it was... fun. =)

now i am at my grandma's house! and you know what? i drove here all by myself. i have never driven that far in my life... it wasn't as bad as people say. so this is why i do not have pictures- i am using my ima's computer. so when i get back to good ol' modesto, i'll load them up for you guys!!!

con amor,
jessica